Music, Matrimony & Me

Say Yes To The Dress.

Bridezillas.

Four Weddings.

While watching these wedding shows, its hard for me not to think about what I want my wedding day to be (or not be).  I assume and hope that my future husband would want to take part in the planning process, however there are some conclusions that I’ve already drawn.  Personally, I’ve never been the woman who wants to be a “princess” on her wedding day.  Big, poofy, Cinderella-esque dresses make me gag, although I have embraced the overall  idea of  wedding dresses over the years.  I don’t care for veils or tiaras and traditional bridal shoes are just ugly to me.  Unlike most women, I’m willing to scale back on the cost of my wedding dress because as I told my best friend “I will make the wedding dress, it won’t make me”.  My theory is the wedding dress is only as beautiful as the bride.  There is no need for $10,000 to be spent on a dress that I will have on for a few hours.*  In my mind, that shit cray.

Besides the love, adoration and solid relationship between myself and the groom, there are other things surrounding the wedding that take precedent over my dress.   While the venue is important, I know that bare spaces can be transformed into something mind-blowing with the correct amount of creativity.   Needless to say I’m not overly concerned with that aspect of the planning.  What must be absolutely perfect are my non-negotiables:  food, music and an open bar.  If I can’t have an open, I don’t want a reception (and yes, I’m being serious).  I’ve been to a wedding without an open bar (or any bar for that matter), and a bad DJ.  No bueno.  Preferably my DJ will be from Jersey and I will more than likely nix the traditional sit down dinner and have a buffet along with different bars or stations (ex. seafood bar, slider station, pasta bar, etc.).  Ultimately my goal is for everyone to have a memorable and enjoyable time, leaving the reception with full bellies and smiles on their faces.

As a music lover, I’ve given great thought to what type of music and very specific songs that I want played on my special day.  I’m not going to list everything I have in mind, just a few of the “major” songs:

Walking down the aisle…

 Never Felt This Way – Alicia Keys – You can find this interlude on Keys’ debut album Songs In A Minor (before “Butterflyz”).  I think this song displays Alicia at her best vocally.  Clocking in at 2:03, I feel this interlude captures several emotions, in so little time.  I also appreciate that you only hear Keys and her piano creating this beautiful music, which for me is symbolic of marriage.

Bridal party entrance…

Got To Give It Up- Marvin Gaye – I know you guys didn’t think I would complete this post without mentioning Marvin Gaye.  “Got To Give It Up” is my favorite up tempo song by the legend, and as of now I fully intend on torturing my bridal party and the groomsmen by having them learn and perform a dance to this track.

First dance as bride and groom…

Spend My Life With You- Eric Benet ft. Tamia – Beautifully written track with the perfect singers.  I can’t think of another duet who would compliment this song like Eric Benet and Tamia.  The lyrics make my heart skip a beat with each listen.

or

Whenever You Call- Mariah Carey – This is one of my favorite ballads, on my favorite album (Butterfly) by Mariah Carey.  Yet, another “clean” track without heavy production similar “Spend My Life With You”.  “And I’m truly inspired, finding my soul there in your eyes.  And you, have opened my heart and lifted inside by showing me yourself undisguised” puts me in a sentimental mood every time I listen to this track.

Dance with my father…

You’re A Big Girl Now – The Stylistics – I’m my father’s oldest child and we have a wonderful relationship.  I feel this is the perfect song for us to dance to on my big day, while paying homage to the old school music we would listen to together on Sunday mornings. 

*I fully intend on taking off my wedding dress the first chance I get.  So either it needs to transform into a party dress, or I’m buying one.  How am I supposed to cut a rug in a dress that weighs a couple of pounds?!!  The wedding dress has to go.

8 thoughts on “Music, Matrimony & Me

  1. I’m loving this!! I do not want a big wedding ceremony at all. But a big,fun party after the nuptiuals is a must. My loved ones, good food and drink and good music is all I’ll need. The only song I’ve consistently wanted to dance to is Luther’s So Amazing. Good post La!

  2. Very nice post. Very YOU post. I think every woman focuses in on a different part of the day. I’m into spaces/places so of course the venue is a big deal to me. I’ve thought about the music too but I’ve decided that the 1st dance should be something that speaks to both of us about our relationship & of course can’t adequately pick that w/o a HIM. Soooo for now I’ll focus on the daddy/daughter dance… Bob Carlisle ‘Butterfly Kisses’ is my dads fave but I’m not sure we’ll go that direction. We shall see.

    Great post… And I see I have some listening to do b/c I only know ONE of those songs.

  3. Good post! I’m loving the music choices. Just so you know, I’m crashing your wedding. Invited or not, I love black weddings because I have more fun at black wedding receptions that practically any party/club/bar I’ve ever been to. You don’t even have to feed me. I just want to dance. =)

Leave a comment