Love Is In The Air

I don’t know much about fighting, but I know I’ll fight for you. -Beyonce

It’s no secret that I’m a hopeful romantic as I divulged my love for love on Valentine’s Day.   I recently did e-flips when the homie Gem, created a post entitled “I Believe In Movie Romances”.  I could barely contain myself as I quoted my favorite romantic movies  that I love so very much.  I promptly tucked my G-status Platinum Member card in my back pocket and feverishly typed away. 

After playing this song at least ten times, perhaps I should lock my G-status Platinum card away for safe keeping until I get my mind right.

I’m not going to lie.  Beyonce totally lost me with her first single “Run The World (Girls)” from her upcoming album 4.  Although she killed the choreography in the music video (as well as her Billboard Awards performance), I’m not a fan of the production and the lyrics are just wack.  I was pretty sure that this would be the one album by Beyonce that I would not purchase, until I heard the second single “Best  Thing I Never Had” and “1+1”.  The second single is dope and all, but “1+1” touched the very fiber of my romantic being.

Sans heavy production, “1+1” is an overdose of sugary and over the top lyrics like “If I ain’t got nothing, I got you.  If I ain’t got something, I don’t give a damn cause I got it with you” that would warm the heart of The Grinch himself.   And I love it!  This track ignites my desire for romance and love that I’m so desperately lacking.  I adore when Beyonce sings, “Make love to me…pull me in close and don’t let me go“.  I can’t help but envision my personal montage of kissing scenes from movies that serve as a substitute for my non-existence love life that make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.   She had me nervous for a minute, but now I’m convinced Beyonce will bring the heat on 4 as she has provided a hit for my love song addiction. 

More love songs that I love…

Amerie- Why Don’t We Fall In Love?

Alicia Keys- Wreckless Love

Monica- Love All Over Me

17 thoughts on “Love Is In The Air

  1. “Cmon baby, make love to me” 1+1 is such a great song. Have you heard The Dream’s version? He produced it so you know he has to put out a version of that joint. This could definitely be a song that brings someone to tears on some random sh*t. Aite let me go listen to some rap before I start shedding some tears.

  2. yayyyyyy love!!!!! *does high kick*

    now, i cant get with you on the Bey 1+1 song. not really my cup of tea. but i LOVE love songs!!!!! like when Bey sings about love, you can tell she really means it. or at least she makes you believe she really means it. and i love it!!!

    theres something about a singer crooning their feelings that makes me all happy inside. its a beautiful thing 🙂

    • HAHAHAHA!!! I was gonna type that (you can tell she really means it), but then I was like “Well I really don’t know if she means it…but she made me believe it!”

  3. Staying in your Beyonce vein, the song “Hello” pains me deep in my soul, from the opening outcry to the wavering in her voice…I don’t sing this song, I wail this song (on repeat). There is no looking cute for me when this song comes on. It makes me ache for love. Ache. No hyperbole. ” … baby when you stole my cool …” No doubt, no doubt Bey.

    Heather Headley’s “He Is” *sigh* He really was…
    This song. THIS SONG.

    And Jilly from Philly, “Whatever”. It’s just so sweet and loving, it melts my heart every time. A song about sex, but it says so much more…

    And her offering him money, chicken wings and fish and grits! LOL #Classic

    I really wanna mention some India Arie songs, but I hate to be a broken record, plus I’d have to list like her whole discography, soooo…

      • Flaws and All gets me too, but I didn’t want this to become a Bey tribute post, lol

      • I should’ve made it one, eh. Maybe on her birthday…that’ll have to be a 2 part post though b/c I’m gonna take it back to “No, No, No” sitting on the swings and shit!

  4. the fact that Bey sings ‘algeba’ I can’t get into this song. not feeling it. I dig the sentiment totally but the actual song? nah.

    I do love all the others you mentioned though. Especially that Amerie. its one of my favorite “getting to know you/butterflies/new love songs” 🙂

    • oh and I realized I didn’t provide my own offering. as a fellow music lover/blogger I couldn’t go without giving my own. on the random, some from my playlist:
      “I love You” by Faith.
      “Cupid” by 112
      “Lady” by D’Angelo
      “Sweeter Than You” The Foreign Exchange

      • On “Lady” when he says “I’ll pick you up everyday, from yo job.”
        I don’t know why that makes me smile, but I can get with practical ways to show you care….

        Leave them flowers alone, buy me some gas!
        *I’m lyin*

  5. oh when that Monica came out I wore it OUT. matter of fact I need to revisit that CD. preciate this post. I’s all in a lovey dovey mood now! lol

  6. I want to like that Beyonce, but I just can’t. My favorite love song from her is Dangerously in Love.

    I love Love, but I’m not big on the romantic movies. I still haven’t seen all of The Notebook. I know, blasphemy. lol.

    Are we sticking with female crooners? No? Awesome. lol. My faves…

    Adore – Prince. When he says he’s not f*cking just for kicks… I love that.
    Stevie Wonder – As. Classic…
    Mary J. – Be Without You
    C. Breezy – With You. This is my favorite Breezy song.
    Force Mds – Tender Love

  7. I love Love songs. I always fantasy about what song me and my future wife are going to dance to first. Love the lyrics and the emotions.

    Certain songs still make me think of certain girls I was talking to.

    Case – Missing You
    Beyonce – Dangerously In Love
    Joe Don’t Want to Be a player was the first R&B song I actually liked and didn’t think was soft
    MJB – Be Without You
    New Edition – Can’t Stand the Rain
    That Medley from Moulin Rouge
    Ready For the World Love you down…

    that being said, I really like how you gave a fair read on the song before you praised it. I found it sappy and over the top. She sang it well, it sounded dope live on AI but the lyrics are so cheesy (couldn’t think of a better word). I just want to shake her and say ‘its not that serious. World aint ending. And if it was, no one thinking about your pumpum.’ Some Beyonce Lyrics just make me want to say to her get over yourself. I heard another new Beyonce song yesterday, Best I Never had… hated it too. I flat out hate all three singles from this album.
    I’m glad I got that off my chest

Leave a comment