NASty

“I guess entertainment means blatantly lying…” -Nas

Words can not explain how excited I am right now! “NASty” is the type of music I love to hear from Nas. I’ve remained a faithful fan throughout the course of his career as I own EVERY album of his (Nas is the only rapper, and perhaps the only artist that has this honor). Every. Single. One. Being that his last album was released almost three years ago (I’m not counting the collaboration album Distant Relatives with Damian Marley), new music from Nas is long over due. Salaam Remi produced “NASty” and the production is reminiscent of rap music from the 80’s. Nas is at his best when he avoids attempting to make mainstream music, which is both a gift and a curse (more so a curse with the current climate of the music industry, but that’s another topic for another day). Needless to say, I’m looking forward to Nas making a come back and in celebration of my favorite rapper, I’m going to share with you all some of my favorite tracks by Nasty Nas.

NY State of Mind Part II

Shootouts

Rewind

If you don’t like this song, I question your judgement.  

Half Time

Hate Me Now

 

4 thoughts on “NASty

  1. This joint is hot! I like when Nas goes in and shows flashes when he was Nasty Nas. I hope his entire cd has this feel to it.

    My favorite Nas moments come from other mc’s songs:

    Verbal Intercourse – Raekwon Ft. Nas, Ghostface Killah (Respect the Purple Tape!!!)

    Mobb Deep- Eye for an Eye (Your Beff is Mine) (feat Nas & Raekwon)

    I don’t have a problem with folks rapping about dope as long as they are dope about it.

  2. Lala! Rewind is my shit! I love that song.

    Oochy Wally is in my top 50 fave songs of all time and I listen to It Ain’t Hard to Tell every fucking day. Every day.

    But my favourite Nas song of all time is Money is My Bitch. Random, and can probably be attributed to my innate Trini attraction to the steel pan in it, but I love this song.

    p.s. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m also a big fan of the corny joints likeYou Owe Me and Hey Nas.

  3. i love nas. in my opinion nas > jay (lyrically).

    don’t sleep on the distant relatives album. its a solid album. i still listen to it from time to time. and yes nas is long overdue. his last album was a classic in my opinion.

  4. HERE WE GO!

    I should have known Nas was your favorite rapper. B/c you have good taste in mucic and nas Is my favorite rapper and people who have good taste in music agree with me. The new Nas goes hard as hell. Love it when he switches up his patterns to match a different flow. Its like Queens Get the Money in double time. I am not crazy about the beat (don’t like the drums), but hey that is what you get with Nas. I have never been big on S Remi. But I honestly believe Nas has gotten better as a rapper, its just a matter of beat selection and concepts with him if the album is going to be dope.

    Speaking of new Nas? DId anybody hear the snippet of the next Common single Feat Nas produced by NO ID? When that full song leaks I am going to cry.

    Tunde is right. Distant relatives is a BEAUTIFUL album. Very grown and reflective. The reggae influence and song content is really stirring for older Nas fans.


    I love Nas so much, I don’t even have to say pause after saying it!
    Sorry if I OD… But I LOVE NAS!







    (If you don’t like this song I question your judgement also)

Leave a comment