On My Radar: Marvin Gaye Biopic

As a Marvin Gaye enthusiast, this is quite possibly the best news I’ve heard in a while*:  filming for a biopic about the Motown legend is slated to begin later this year.  I’m happy that someone has decided to release a film, because I was drawing up an outline of my own for producing a project honoring one of my favorite artists.  While I hadn’t quite filled the role of Marvin Gaye, I would totally co-star as Tammi Terrell  the film would’ve spanned the singer’s career beginning in Washington, D.C. before his big break with Motown. 

However, the tentatively titled Sexually Healing will focus on the Gaye’s career during the Midnight Love (the last album released before his death) era when he lived in the Belgian city of Ostend.  With EMI (the rights-holders to Gaye’s music) finally giving the project the greenlight (it has been in works for approximately five years), shooting will begin in Ostend later this year. It’s rumored that Jesse L. Martin of “Law & Order” or  Terrence Howard will star as the late singer.  

I’m a little disappointed that the film won’t focus on the Motown era of Gaye’s career.  I think it would be absolutely fabulous for people to see and understand the impact that he had as a recording artist for Berry Gordy.  Gaye was the top seller of the label and the first artist to go against Gordy, fighting to record his own music.  While recording Midnight Love the singer was in a very dark place, as Gaye was heavily dependent on drugs, struggling financially and witnessing many of his personal relationships deteriorating.  Although Gaye struggled with depression and drug abuse throughout most of his career, I would like for the film to depict the artist during happier times.

In regards to casting, I want Terrence Howard nowhere near this film.  For one, he doesn’t resemble Gaye and the only thing the pair have in common is their soft voices.  I think Jesse L. Martin would be a better fit for the role if I had to choose from the two actors.  It also would also be nice to see a fresh face star as Marvin Gaye, but I feel if that was the case the supporting roles would need to be backed by well-known actors/actresses.  During that time in Gaye’s life the singer wasn’t surrounded by many people, so there wouldn’t be much of a supporting cast. 

Although Sexual Healing will not focus on my favorite time period of Marvin’s career, I will still go to see the film.  I just hope the director and everyone working on the project does an excellent job and properly honors the great singer’s legacy.

*shoutout to my BFF @AngelJ1217 for making me aware of this project

3 thoughts on “On My Radar: Marvin Gaye Biopic

  1. Seems like we’re on the same wavelength here. I would like to see a film that deals with Marvin’s Motown years and definitely would choose Jesse L. Martin over Terrence Howard. Either way, I’ll still go see the movie.

    I’m curious, if you could choose any actor to play Marvin, who would you choose?

    • Seeing Jesse L. Martin’s picture, I think he’d be a shoe in….at least look wise. I’m not familar with any of his acting unfortunately. I’d cast Tarji P. Henson as Tammi Terrell if I myself didn’t get the role. That Jennifer chick from My Wife and Kids and You Got Served to play his second wife Janis. My man Jeffery who played in Cadillac Records who played Muddy Waters would make a nice Berry Gordy.

Leave a comment